PaperAge Magazine

BillerudKorsnäs Proposes Election of Jan Svensson as Its Next Chairman

Jan Svensson Jan Svensson

Jan. 11, 2021 - The Nomination Committee of BillerudKorsnäs has decided to propose that Jan Svensson shall be elected as Chairman of the Board of BillerudKorsnäs, at the Annual General Meeting to be held on 5 May 2021.

Jan Åström, current Chairman of the Board, announced that he is not available for re-election but would continue as a member of the company's Board. The Nomination Committee said it will propose that he is elected to this role.

Svensson has served on the Board of BillerudKorsnäs since May 2020 and is the former CEO of Latour (2003-2019), a Swedish mixed investment company listed on Nasdaq Stockholm. Currently, he is also Chairman of the board of Fagerhult and Tomra Systems, as well as Board member of Assa Abloy, Loomis, Nobia, Climeon, Stena Metall and Herenco.

Michael M.F. Kaufmann, Chairman of the Nomination Committee, commented, "The Nomination Committee is very pleased to propose Jan Svensson as new Chairman. We are convinced that Jan Svensson, with his broad industrial experience as well as excellent strategic and leadership skills, will provide the company with a chairmanship that is right for the company.

"The Nomination Committee also wants to point out the important contributions by Jan Åström during his term as Chairman of the Board, including his recruitment of a new CEO," Kaufmann added.

BillerudKorsnäs provides packaging materials and solutions that challenge conventional packaging for a sustainable future. The company has 8 production units in Sweden, Finland and the UK. To learn more, please visit:

SOURCE: BillerudKorsnäs