Södra's Chairman Christer Segersteen to Step Down, Lena Ek Nominated to Succeed Him

Christer Segersteen

April 16, 2015 - Södra announced that Christer Segersteen will step down from his position as Chairman as of Södra's Annual General Meeting on May 19. Segersteen served as Vice Chairman for 18 years and Chairman for four. In 2015, he turns 65.

Södra's Nomination Committee has proposed Lena Ek as new Chairman, and Hans Berggren as new Board member.

"I have spent many fun, exciting and challenging years with Södra," Segersteen said. "Södra is now moving forward, with a new Group strategy under new management. Although I will miss Södra, it's time for others to take over and it feels satisfying to hand over a company that is stable, profitable and financially sound."

Nomination Committee Chairman, Tomas Andersson, stated, “The proposals that the Nomination Committee will now present to the AGM will ensure that the Board is composed of appropriate and highly competent members, who also represent renewal.

Lena Ek

"Lena Ek has an extensive background in politics and has served on the Board of Södra for ten years. Hans Berggren has extensive experience in the industry, as well as in cooperative enterprises. Both are forest owners and members of Södra," Andersson noted.

Ek has worked politically at municipal, county, national and EU levels, and serves on the Board of the Swedish Centre Party as well as the Party's Executive Committee. She was Minister for the Environment from 2011-2014 under the Swedish Alliance government and since the election in 2014, has been a Member of the Riksdag and Deputy Chair of the Committee on Environment and Agriculture.

Ek has been a member of Södra for many years and owns forest properties outside Mönsteras where she grew up. She served on Södra's Board from 2000-2010. She was born in 1958, has a degree in international law, and lives in Valdemarsvik.

"Södra is an important organization and means a lot to us as members," said Ek. "Whatever forest owners do, they can always turn to Södra, and the value that Södra generates for us as its owners is fantastic.

"The forest and forest fibre have enormous potential in terms of new products and new markets. It is an honor to be recommended by the Nomination Committee," Ek added.

The proposed new Board member, Hans Berggren, is President of the co-operative association Sveriges Stärkelseproducenter and its three subsidiaries Lyckeby Culinar AB, Lyckeby Starch AB and Kockens AB. The Group generates sales of SEK 1.2 billion and sells products to the paper and food industries. Hans Berggren was born in 1956, is an agronomist and lives outside Karlshamn.

Anders Grennborg, 62, is resigning from the Board after 13 years, and Caroline Sundewall after five years.