Mohawk's Walter Duignan Earns Stanley O. Styles Award

June 30, 2009 - NPTA Alliance announced that Walter Duignan, executive vice president and vice chairman of Mohawk Fine Papers, Inc., is the recipient of the 2009 Stanley O. Styles (SOS) Industry Excellence Award.

The SOS Industry Excellence Award is named after Stanley O. Styles who worked more than 35 years with the Martin Cantine Co., followed by more than 35 years with NPTA Alliance. It's annually given to an individual who has had a distinguished career in the paper, packaging and supplies industry and has made a positive impact in the industry through innovation and dedication.

Duignan was chosen out of a pool of four extremely qualified nominees for his contributions during his 47 years within the industry, including:

  • Assisting Mohawk Fine Papers, Inc. to grow into a national powerhouse in writing, text and cover papers
  • Organizing sales and marketing efforts to grow his former employer, Simpson Paper Company, more than $1 billion in sales
  • Training, supporting and mentoring numerous paper and packaging professionals.

Duignan joined Mohawk in 1995 as executive vice president, strategic planning, with responsibility for strategic planning, sales, marketing and product promotions. In 2000, he became executive vice president and chairman, and in 2005 was appointed to Mohawk's Board of Directors.

Prior to joining Mohawk, Duignan worked at Simpson Paper Company, where his first role was to organize a modern customer service department for Simpson's west coast paper mill operations. Over time, he became vice president, sales & marketing, where he helped grow more than $1 billion in sales, both domestically and internationally.

Duignan will receive the SOS Industry Excellence Award on October 1 during the Chairman's Luncheon at NPTA Alliance's Annual Convention, September 29 October 1, 2009.

In addition, two scholarships will be awarded in Duignan's name through the Paper and Plastics Education Research (PAPER) Foundation Scholarship Program in 2010.


PaperAge. Copyright © O'Brien Publications, Inc. All rights reserved.