Paper Industry International Hall of Fame to Honor Seven at Induction Ceremony

Sept. 8, 2008 - The Paper Industry International Hall of Fame announced that its membership roster will grow to 89 with the induction of seven paper industry innovators who have been chosen as the 14th annual induction class.

The induction ceremonies will be held on Thursday, October 23 at the Radisson Paper Valley Hotel in Appleton, Wisconsin. Carl G. Björnberg, chairman of the board of Myllykoski Corp., will be the keynote speaker at this year's induction dinner.

The 2008 inductees are:

  • Dard Hunter (deceased) - papermaker, historian and printer with Mountain House Press in Chillicothe, Ohio, USA, for Academic, Founder and Research and Development;
  • Theodore Clifford Kennedy - founder, CEO and chairman (retired) of BE&K Inc. of Birmingham, Alabama, USA, for Founder and Leadership;
  • Dr. Douglas William Reeve - professor and chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry at the University of Toronto in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, for Academic, Research and Development and Technology;
  • Hari Shankar Singhania- Chairman of JK Paper Ltd. Of New Delhi, India, for Founder and Leadership;
  • Lars G. Sunblad - president and CEO (retired) of AB Iggesunds Bruk Company of Iggesund, Sweden, for Entrepreneurship, Leadership and Marketing and Sales;
  • Johann M. Voith (deceased) - founder of J.M. Voith Company of Heidenheim, Germany, for Founder, Entrepreneurship and Technology;
  • Karl Rudolf Walden (deceased) - founder, chairman and CEO of United Paper Mills (UPM) of Helsinki, Finland, for Founder.

The event will begin with a reception at 5 p.m., followed by dinner at 6:30 p.m. and the induction ceremony at 8 p.m.

Following the ceremony, honorees and guests are invited to enjoy dessert at the Paper Discovery Center, an interactive museum that celebrates all things paper – the wonder and the legacy.

For more information on the 14th annual induction ceremony, please visit the web site: www.paperhall.org.

SOURCE: The Paper Industry International Hall of Fame

PaperAge. Copyright © O'Brien Publications, Inc. All rights reserved.